Work of a genius…

This is wonderful insight into how Fagen and Becker compose, and comes off as a remarkably logical and intuitive process.

In sum, “Peg” is just this:

Intro: I – VII7(b9) (x3 down whole-steps) to “Peg motif” 1x (IVmaj7-Isus4)

Verse: “Peg” motif (IVmaj7-Isus4) in blues format: I – I – I – I – IV – IV – I – I – V – IV – I – I

Chorus:  “Peg” motif, tonic to relative minor: I – vi – I – vi, and then #iv(b5) – IV – I – vii – iii – VI7 – ii – V7

There is an interlude, but other than that this is pretty much the whole thing. Pretty simple when he explains it like this.


Leave a Reply

